Deuteronomy 6:5

1. With All My Heart.
We’ve been studying and meditating on our memory verse all week above. I will now share what loving God with all my heart, soul, and strength means to me or what God has spoken to me through this verse. Deuteronomy 6:5, “Love the Lord your God with all your heart and with all your soul and with all your strength.”

In the process of digging deeper, I used the New Living Translation Daily Study Bible for Women.  I believe that God led me to find the following definitions of Love:

  • Love is a Decision – The love that God requires from us for himself and for each other is the highest form of love –  agape love – love like his
  • That love should be unwavering whatever the cost to ourselves and irrespective of the reaction of the person it is being offered to.
  1. Be obedient and obey Gods commands
  2. Take the whole thing out of the realm of feelings and into the realm of doing.
  3. Show God I love him by doing for others.
  • Such Love –  We may try to back away from and/or avoid that person that we feel may not accept our Love.  But  God will give us HIS love for which to love that person whom we might think is difficult or different.
  • Loving God – Ask the Lord to show you the depths of your sin and what it cost the Lord Jesus  to forgive you.  The depths of HIS redeeming love will deepen your  own love response to HIM.
  • As Long as Life Lasts – It is not enough to pray for other Christians, or just say we love them.   God sees our heart and watches our life.  We must DO – to impress God AND for HIM to see our Love.
About Melanie F.

I am a IT Professional living life through the guidance of our Lord.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Deuteronomy 6:5

  1. shannon says:

    Love should be unwavering….irrespective of the reaction of the person it is being offered to.
    Yes.
    Yes.
    Yes.
    Thank you.

  2. Amen and again I say, Amen. Thank you for those words. Blessings to you.

  3. prince26155 says:

    Melanie, don’t you just love verse mapping! When we dig a little deeper into God’s holy word, we learn to know Him, really KNOW Him, and knowing Him makes us desire to be like Him.
    Keep up the good work! I’m glad you wrote this.
    Blessings,
    Barbara P. (OBS Small Group Leader/Pray Warrior Team

  4. Melanie F. says:

    These are my first comments on my blog. Thanks Callie, Shannon and Prince. I love your comments – they are most appreciated.

  5. coloradoblessedmom says:

    Love is a descision! Amen to that. And it takes discipline to love what and were we should love! When we have true love for something it’s just an amazing feeling. I have always loved the Lord, but when I fully put my trust in him, the love I felt for my walk and Him was overwhelming…in a good way!!! I am truly amazed how everyone has a story, yet we all have one thing in common saying yes to the Lord! It’s amazing to see how we all have similar thoughts in yet such different ways! Following your blog via the blog hop, hope you can stop by my page! =) coloradoblessedmom.wordpress.com

  6. Angie says:

    Love, Love, Love this!! Agape love!!! Thank you for this wonderful blog!!!

Leave a Reply

