SayWhat? Jeremiah 29:13

Hello Again Everyone!  This is week two of the Online Bible Study – “What Happens When Women Say Yes to God” that is being presented by P31 Proverbs 31 Ministries.  Thanks to our wonderful bible study leaders Melissa Taylor and Nicki Koziarz.  Great job ladies!!

This week our verse for the week is Jeremiah 29:13 “You will seek me, and find me when you  seek me with all your heart” (NIV).  We are studying the 5 Question Filter that should be used to discern if it is actually God who is asking you to do something for Him in your quiet time with Him.  We are also discovering our SayWhat? moments from God.

5QuestionFilter

I have to tell you, this week is the best week of this study because I have learned something very valuable to me.   I have been struggling with this question for a long time. Is God really speaking to me or is it my subconscious?  How do I really know?   However, the moment that I read the filter questions, I had all kinds of memories coming back to me of times when several of the questions asked of me pertained to something I felt God was asking me to do.  The three filter questions that helped me the most are:

  • Is it beyond me?
  • Am I hearing the message from multiple sources?
  • Would it please God?

My first issue was I did not feel I spent enough time with God to hear his word.   I was able to discern that the reason why I had not been spending much time with God was because I had no time available in my day.  Where was all of my discretionary time going?  If I have no time with God, How do I hear his voice?

 

Then the next time I picked up my phone, I noticed that I had all of these messages from games that I play on my phone while commuting back and forth to work on the train.  They were all saying come play with me today.  I had this impression in my mind that day that I should just delete these games from my phone.  Then it occurred to me that I could use my discretionary time going forward on my bible studies and being in God’s word.  At first, I hesitated but the idea to delete the games kept coming back to me throughout the day.  I reviewed the filter questions and decided that it was the thing to do – so I deleted all the games.

 

I have to tell you, that was the best SayWhat? moment that I have ever had!  From the first day, I don’t even miss the games at all.  I have never even been tempted to re-install them.  I now have plenty of time daily to spend with God and further opportunities to hear his word!  I would never have thought that just a simple thing would help so much!  I thought it was beyond me to give up those games but it was not and I am sure it pleases God!

About Melanie F.

I am a IT Professional living life through the guidance of our Lord.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to SayWhat? Jeremiah 29:13

  1. Eva Evans says:

    Bless you. You really did say YES!

  2. Melissa S OBS Group Leader says:

    Great post! I did the same thing a while back. I didn’t even miss them either. I used to play them at night before bed, now I read devitionals or the Bible. Thanks for sharing.

  3. Beckey says:

    Wonderful way to say YES to God. Give up what is distracting you from Him and His plan for you! BTW… I love the YouVersion.com bible app. A great way to take your Bible (and also different devotional plans and Bible reading plans) along with you!

    • Melanie F. says:

      Thanks Becky – I love the Youversion Bible too and use it for verse mapping. I just keep the same verse changing the version – then use the dictionary too!

  4. Joyce says:

    You go Girl! Excited to hear what Jesus is planning for you after sharing so much of your time with Him!

  5. Melanie F. says:

    Thanks Joyce – me too!

  6. Nichole Wolland says:

    Wow, way to say yes to God! I can relate, I have given up some TV shows & have never regretted it. I love OBS and have never been so excited to spend so much time studying God’s Word. The questions were so helpful to me, too!

Leave a Reply

