Life Interrupted – Romans 5:3-4

Hello – we are in week 4 of the Online Bible Study – “What Happens When Women Say Yes to God” by Lysa Terkeurst, presented by Proverbs 31 Ministries.  This is our #stickwithit week  as we only have two weeks after this week to go in this study.

Our memory verse this week is “Not only so, but we also glory in our sufferings, because we know that suffering produces perseverance; perseverance, character; and character, hope.” Romans 5:3-4

Last October at my routine visit with my doctor, he noticed an abnormality in my blood test and referred me to a Hematologist.  On my first visit to her office, she asked me if I drank alcohol and how often.  I told her that I had a drink daily when I got home from work to relax.  I do not know why I felt that I needed to drink daily.  I believe I had just gotten into a habit that was hard to break. She asked me to stop drinking completely until she could see what could be causing the abnormality.

As I look back, the only time I did not drink was during my one and only pregnancy with my daughter 15 years ago.  So, I followed her advice.  Lets fast forward to March of this year.  The doctor ran more blood test twice leading up to the March appointment with no change  in the results.  At this point, she was thinking that I had the beginning of a cancer and wanted to draw some bone marrow.

As you may guess, I was getting scared now.  I had been healthy all my life.  All kinds of thoughts were going through my head.  What will I do if I have cancer?  I started doing all of this research on it.  Each bit of information I picked up seemed to be scarier than the last.  The day of the Bone marrow procedure arrived.  The procedure was just as the doctor described it.  It did not really hurt, it was just awkward having to lie on my stomach and listening to those suction sounds.  My doctor wanted me to return the next day for the results.

Sleep what’s that? I just stayed up all night reading the bible and praying as I could not get any sleep.  When I went in for the results I has nervous and could barely wait to get this over with.  Well, I waited 2 hours past my appointment before I had to ask if they had forgotten me.  Apparently there was some mix up but I was finally called in.  The doctor told me that the bone marrow test results were clean.  There was no cancer.  She felt that it was the daily drinking that caused the abnormality.  She wanted me to permanently stop drinking.

I have two months to go before it will have been a year since I had my last drink.  I believe now that the purpose of this exercise with my doctor was for me to realize how damaging the drinking was to me.  I believe that I needed to go through the scare in order to really think about the drinking.  I have tried on my own to stop drinking before.  I would say, I won’t buy any alcohol this week at the store but I would not stick by it.  Or I would have it in the house and say, I won’t drink any today.  Still that night, I would come home and have that drink.  But the minute the doctor told me I had to stop, I was able to do it cold turkey.

At the time, I did not attribute it to God because I was a new believer.  I started down my path with God in August of last year.  By October, I was still reading the beginnings of the bible.  I had not participated in any Bible Study as I was learning on my own.  Now, over a year later and with the help of Proverbs 31 Ministries, I can now put this in perspective.  I now believe that God helped me through this and is the reason I am alcohol free today.

About Melanie F.

I am a IT Professional living life through the guidance of our Lord.
Image | This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Life Interrupted – Romans 5:3-4

  1. Marilyn says:

    Wow, thanks for sharing. Yes God is amazing and used your abnormal blood test to see what needed to be done. Cold turkey with God’s help, you were not alone in giving up drinking God was with you all the way. Glad you are a part of the OBS and that you have said Yes to God. Blessings as you continue your journey with God.
    Marilyn (OBS Group Leader)

  2. Beckey says:

    It never stops amazing me the things God will use to interrupt our plans and get our attention! #stickwithit

  3. Tami says:

    Melanie, I love your blog. As a new believer myself it continues to amaze me as I look at times in my life that were interrupted, times where I see now I was led by the hand of God. He is always there whether we truly realize or are aware of it.

Leave a Reply

