The Great Life – Psalms 81:10

Hello – we are in the sixth and final week of the Online Bible Study – “What Happens When Women Say Yes to God” by Lysa Terkeurst, presented by Proverbs 31 Ministries.

At this point, we are all looking back through the six weeks to discover the gems that we have picked up from this study. One of the discussion points to choose from was our interpretation of the verse Psalms 81:10.  We were asked a series of questions to help us dig into this verse and see what it meant to us.  I would like to share with you both the questions and my answers to them:

Psalm 81:10

“I am the Lord your God, who brought you out of Egypt.  Open wide your mouth and I will fill it.”

There are three key points from this verse.  First, a reminder of the fact that the Lord is our God.  Why is it important for us to keep that in the forefront of our minds?

  • I believe it is important for us to keep the fact that the Lord is our God in the forefront of our minds, because he is our savior in this world.  We must believe in him and      obey his word.  We need to live in his word daily.  Reading verses from the Bible seems to envelope a person so that God’s spirit can work inside and out.

___________________________________________________________________

Second, He is our God, who has been faithful throughout our journey and delivered us.  What does that mean to you personally?

  • He has been faithful to me and has loved me all my life. He has been with me through good times and bad.  During this bible study, I have learned that the bad times where really times where God was working on me.  If I had an experience in my past, I can      now look back, with what I have learned, and pick out all of the lessons that I have learned by going through those hard times.  I can now look forward and feel good about surrendering my future to Him by obeying Him and saying yes when he asks/needs me.

___________________________________________________________________

Third, if we open ourselves up to Him fully, He will fill us.  What does opening ourselves up to Him fully mean?

  • Opening ourselves up to Him fully means to live in his word everyday, praising him and  obeying him.  We must be available like a sponge to soak up whatever he wants to show us.  We must know that we  cannot hide from God.  He sees all.  We should be able to bring him with us knowingly into everything we do.   Each word we speak should bring questions – Will what I say do good or bad?  Will what I say bring pain to someone?  Would the Lord bless me for saying this, doing this or being this way?

___________________________________________________________________

What will God fill us with?

  • God will fill us with His glory and the power to stay within his word.  He will provide us with whatever it is we are seeking at the moment.  If we are down, he will fill us with hope.  If we are happy, He will be the reason why we are so happy.  He has, no doubt, probably just fulfilled something else that we needed.  If we need someone to talk to, He is there.  He fills our every need.

1236795_576860295706784_1469227239_n

___________________________________________________________________

About Melanie F.

I am a IT Professional living life through the guidance of our Lord.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to The Great Life – Psalms 81:10

  1. Stacey Mendro (OBS Small Group Leader) says:

    Hi Melanie! Reading God’s Word brings so much hope to us. I love how you wrote about how God fills us up…God meets our EVERY need. Thank you for sharing from Psalm 81:10.

  2. Barbara says:

    Hi Melanie! I am so happy that I found your blog..I love all the things that you have written during this OBS study.I am going to go back from the beginning of this Bible Study on your blog and read in detail all of your words that you have wrote..Today I was blessed when I found your blog thank you Melanie for this blessing. Blessings to You, Barbara

Leave a Reply

